Return to Headlines

Wauwatosa School District Medical/Public Health Advisory Panel to Receive Leadership Award

CNN Legal Analyst and Supreme Court Reporter Joan Biskupic will provide the keynote address for the Wauwatosa Public Library Foundation’s hybrid Leadership Event at Wauwatosa East High School and online on November 18.

In addition, members of the Wauwatosa School District Medical/Public Health Advisory Panel will receive the annual Arthur B. Kohasky Leadership Award for their work on the district’s COVID-19 pandemic protocols.

This annual event, which draws hundreds of attendees, is a celebration of the important role the Library plays in the Wauwatosa community and features nationally recognized authors whose writings address compelling current topics. The event also honors area high school students and an adult whose leadership has had a positive impact on Wauwatosa.

Receiving the Student Leadership Awards this year are Carys Abbott, Divine Savior Holy Angels High School; Hayden LeMonds, Marquette University High School; Paige Kearney, Pius XI High School; Adriana Xiong, Wauwatosa East High School; Layla Allen, Wauwatosa West High School; Madison Vasatko, Wisconsin Lutheran High School.

The adult award winners are the 20 members of the Wauwatosa School District Medical/Public Health Advisory Panel, who dedicated countless hours to developing a safe and effective COVID policy to protect our students, staff and the community at large. The winners are Pediatrics: Ryan Scheper, MD; Timothy Richer, MD; Christen A. McAlpine-Tesfai, MD; Andrea Morrison, MD, MS; Emergency Medicine: Marcie Navratil, MD; Infection Prevention: Allison Reeme, MD; Infectious Disease: Leslie Cockerham, MD; Mental Health: Chasity Brimeyer, PhD; Heidi Hemling, MS, LPC, NCC, PMH-C; Jenny Hoag, PhD; Response Team/COVID Experience: Peter Bartz, MD; AJ Grove, MD; Sean Nolan, DO; Public Health: Laura Stephens, MPH; Anne Christiansen, MPH; District/School Board: Dr. Phil Ertl, Marta Kwiatkowski; Melissa Nettesheim; Katelyn Lasse, BSN, RN, NCSN; Sonja Phillips, LSSW, MS; Michelle Anderson, MA; Steven Doman.

has covered the Supreme Court for 25 years and is the author of several books on the judiciary. She most recently published a biography of Chief Justice John Roberts (The Chief, spring 2019). Her previous books include biographies of Sandra Day O'Connor (2005), Antonin Scalia (2009) and Sonia Sotomayor (2014). Before joining CNN in 2017, Biskupic was the editor-in-charge for Legal Affairs at Reuters and the Supreme Court correspondent for the Washington Post and for USA Today.

Past Keynote Speakers include
Bob Woodward, Ron Chernow, Isabella Wilkerson, Andrew Ross Sorkin, Erik Larsen, Bud Selig, Tracy Kidder, Steve Rushin, Robert Ballard, James Brady, David Eagleman, Jeremy Scahill, Jordan Ellenberg, Lee Eisenberg, Bob Gleeson, David Marannis, Michael Cudahy and David Grann.

Past Leadership Award winners include
Chris Foley, Don Layden, Ray Perry, Peggy Rosenzweig, Tim Winn, Ann and Craig Larson, Jon Vice, Mary Ellen Stanek, Denise Lindberg, Joe and Jennifer Bartolotta, Michael McCrea, Caroline Krider, Clare Fiorenza, John Kissinger, Mary Newton and John Sanger, Chris Leffler, Jeff Roznowski and Mike Hoefgen.

For ticket information, call (414) 471-8487. 

The Wauwatosa Public Library Foundation has also announced that the keynote speaker for the spring Library Luncheon on March 31, 2022, will be novelist and Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright AYAD AKHTAR.